offbnk
Bank directory

BANK PROFILE · Switzerland

LGT Bank Schweiz

LGT Bank (Schweiz) AG

LGT Bank (Schweiz) AG is the Swiss bank of the LGT group, wholly owned by LGT Group Foundation in Vaduz, with its registered seat at Lange Gasse 15 in Basel and branches in Zurich, Bern, Geneva and Lugano plus a representative office in St. Gallen. It is licensed and supervised by FINMA and a member of esisuisse, which protects deposits up to CHF 100,000 per client. The bank publishes a dated price list for its basic cash services: account management is CHF 120 a quarter per portfolio with no residency split, electronic payments are free, manual payment orders cost CHF 60 or CHF 100, and foreign-exchange and metal-account transactions carry a banded fee from 1.50% below CHF 100,000 to 0.10% above CHF 5 million. Investment advisory, portfolio management, custody and Lombard pricing is not published and is quoted through a relationship manager. Its FinSA brochure describes investment advisory, portfolio management and advice-free transactions, and states that it does not offer execution-only transactions in the FinSA sense; it also serves independent asset managers as custodian. The credit ratings shown on the LGT site belong to LGT Bank AG in Vaduz and are not this bank's.

Jurisdiction
Switzerland
Regulator
FINMA
Headquarters
Basel

01 · AT A GLANCE

The LGT group's Swiss bank in Basel, with published cash-service prices and its own FINMA licence

  • Separate Swiss bank, seat in Basel, licensed by FINMA; not the Vaduz LGT Bank AG
  • Account management CHF 120 a quarter per portfolio, with no domestic/international split
  • Electronic payments free of charge; manual payment orders CHF 60 or CHF 100
  • Foreign-exchange fee banded from 1.50% below CHF 100,000 to 0.10% above CHF 5 million
  • Investment advisory, portfolio management, Lombard loans and Swiss mortgages; custodian for independent asset managers
  • Debit Mastercard, with Mastercard and Visa credit cards on request
Minimum deposit

Not documentedThe bank documents reviewed here state no minimum for opening an account. That does not mean there is none; the bank may state one on request.

Client segments

Private banking, Ultra high net worth

Service languages

German, English, French, Italian

02 · ACCOUNTS AND PRODUCTS

Documented accounts and products.

Current account

Current account

The account for business and private payment transactions, held in Swiss francs, euros, US dollars and other currencies, with the entire balance available at any time and no interest paid. Account management is CHF 120 a quarter per portfolio; payment orders, direct debits, standing orders, debit and credit cards, loans and stock-exchange orders run through it.

Segment
Private banking
Currencies
CHF · EUR · USD
Savings account

Private account

The account for private investors in Swiss francs, euros or US dollars. Up to CHF/EUR/USD 100,000 a month can be withdrawn freely and larger amounts need three months' notice; purchases of securities, precious metals and foreign currency and fixed-term deposits of three months or more are not limited.

Segment
Private banking
Currencies
CHF · EUR · USD
Savings account

Savings account

A savings option for individuals and clubs in Swiss francs, euros or US dollars, with interest tiered by balance. Withdrawals are free up to CHF/EUR/USD 20,000 a month; drawing beyond that limit costs 2% of the excess. Statements are issued annually.

Segment
Private banking
Currencies
CHF · EUR · USD
Fixed deposit

Fixed-term deposits and medium-term notes

Short-term and fixed-term deposits and LGT's range of medium-term notes, placed at short notice through a relationship manager or LGT SmartBanking. Rates are not published.

Segment
Private banking
Custody account

Securities custody

Safe custody and administration of financial instruments, with a settlement statement after each transaction, a quarterly statement of total assets and regular custody account statements. Custody pricing is not in the published basic cash-services list and is quoted through a relationship manager.

Segment
Private banking
Advisory mandate

Investment advisory

Portfolio-related advice with a suitability statement for each recommendation, in three models: LGT Advisory Classic for fund-based portfolios, LGT Advisory Expert for individually structured portfolios discussed with an investment expert, and LGT Active Advisory for clients who trade regularly across the whole investment spectrum. Priced per model through a relationship manager.

Segment
Private banking
Discretionary mandate

Portfolio management

Discretionary mandates run to an agreed strategy, including Classic, Swiss Domestic, Focus Sustainability, Focus Growth and Focus High Dividend, each with a choice of sustainability profile. A portfolio manager is directly available to clients with more than CHF 5 million in the mandate. Priced through a relationship manager.

Segment
Private banking
Other

Trading and advice-free transactions

Equities, ETFs, bonds, funds, structured products, options and futures, currencies and precious metals traded on the major exchanges, with orders placed through a relationship manager or online via LGT SmartBanking. Orders without advice are checked for appropriateness against the client's knowledge and experience; the bank states that it does not offer execution-only transactions in the FinSA sense.

Segment
Private banking
Lombard loan

Lombard loan

Credit against assets held with the bank, usable as an overdraft facility, a fixed advance of up to three years, a contingent liability for trading, or a guarantee or letter of credit. The amount depends on the loan-to-value of the collateral; conditions are quoted individually.

Segment
Private banking
Mortgage

Mortgage

Financing of residential property in Switzerland, with tranches and terms that can be combined. The bank states that property abroad is financed through LGT Bank AG in Liechtenstein rather than by this entity. A real-estate account is available only in combination with a mortgage.

Segment
Private banking
Payment card

Debit Mastercard

Debit card with free cash withdrawals over the counter and at ATMs in Switzerland and Liechtenstein, withdrawals abroad, e-commerce with 3-D Secure via the debiX+ app, and Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin Pay and Fidesmo Pay. National card charges are covered by the account management fee.

Segment
Private banking
Payment card

Credit cards

Mastercard and Visa credit cards, available on request through a relationship manager.

Segment
Private banking
Other

Precious metals and metal account

Gold, silver, platinum and palladium as coins, plate and bars, stored in a safe-deposit box or custody account, or held as a claim on a metal account. Metal-account transactions carry the banded foreign-exchange fee; physical transactions are priced per bar or coin.

Segment
Private banking
Other

Private markets

Private equity, private debt, private real estate, infrastructure and commodities through fund-of-funds solutions with terms of ten to twelve years and capital calls up to the commitment. The bank states the offer is not available to all investors.

Segment
Private banking
Other

Wealth planning

Structuring of international and intergenerational assets, including the legal form of a company, funds, foundations and insurance-based solutions, relocation to another country and succession planning. The bank takes tax and legal circumstances into account but does not give tax or legal advice itself.

Segment
Private banking
Other

UHNWI and family office services

Tailored investment strategies, family governance, philanthropy advisory and consolidated wealth reporting through the LGT Wealth Portrait, which covers all financial and physical assets regardless of who manages them.

Segment
Ultra high net worth
Other

1e pension solution

Swiss occupational pension plan for salary components above one and a half times the upper BVG limit, for earners between CHF 136,080 and 907,200 a year. Three strategies: a portfolio-management mandate from CHF 750,000 in pension assets, a fund mandate from CHF 10,000, and the Alpha Indexing Fund with no minimum.

Segment
Private banking
Custody account

Custody and services for independent asset managers

Custodian-bank services for independent asset managers, multi-family offices, fund companies, trustees and lawyers: direct-access trading, market information, LGT SmartBanking Pro with e-documents, e-data and an order interface, LGT investment solutions and financing for their clients. Under the FinSA brochure the asset manager instructs the bank under a restricted power of attorney and remains responsible for suitability.

03 · WHAT IT COSTS

Published pricing.

ChargeAmountWhen it applies
Account management feeAccount maintenance
  • CHF 120 per quarter
Charged per portfolio for current, private, savings and blocked accounts. Covers account management and transaction fees, the bank's own electronic payment fees, statements, evidence of paid-up capital, the metal account, cash withdrawals at Swiss and Liechtenstein cash machines, national debit card charges and the annual statement of income.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Administration fee where a contracting party is a legal entityAccount maintenance
  • CHF 1,000 per quarter
Charged in addition to the account management fee if at least one contracting party is a legal entity, which the bank attributes to the added regulatory complexity. Relevant to anyone banking through a company or a foundation.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Account statements at fortnightly or weekly frequencyStatements and documents
  • CHF 10 per quarter
Monthly and quarterly statements are free of charge.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Account statements at daily frequencyStatements and documents
  • CHF 15 per quarter
Monthly and quarterly statements are free of charge.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Manual payment order — CHF/EUR within Switzerland and Liechtenstein or SEPAOutgoing payments
  • CHF 60 per transaction
Priced with an advisor. Per instruction placed through a relationship manager by phone, e-mail, letter or SmartBanking notification. The same payment made electronically via LGT SmartBanking, eBill, direct debit, standing order or PAIN.001 is free of charge, as are incoming payments in all currencies.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Manual payment order — other foreign or foreign-currency paymentsOutgoing payments
  • CHF 100 per transaction
Priced with an advisor. Per instruction placed through a relationship manager. The same payment made electronically is free of charge.Services and fees - Basic cash services
EUR payment to the EU without IBANOutgoing payments
  • CHF 10 per transaction
Transfers within the LGT group are free of charge.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Third-party charges debited to the principal (OUR)Outgoing payments
  • CHF 25 per transaction
For CHF and EUR payments to Switzerland and Liechtenstein the full amount is usually credited anyway, so the bank advises against adding OUR instructions to them.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Urgency surcharge on a paymentOutgoing payments
  • CHF 15 per transaction
An execution confirmation costs CHF 30 in addition.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Bank fee on foreign currency and metal account transactionsForeign exchange
  • 1.5% (up to CHF 100,000) per transaction
  • 1% (CHF 100,000 – CHF 250,000) per transaction
  • 0.6% (CHF 250,000 – CHF 500,000) per transaction
  • 0.45% (CHF 500,000 – CHF 1,000,000) per transaction
  • 0.25% (CHF 1,000,000 – CHF 3,000,000) per transaction
  • 0.15% (CHF 3,000,000 – CHF 5,000,000) per transaction
  • 0.1% (above CHF 5,000,000) per transaction
Banded on transaction volume in Swiss francs or equivalent. The price list notes these are standard prices and that the fee actually charged may differ.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Physical precious metal transaction — gold, platinum or palladium barOther
  • CHF 300 per item
Per one-kilogram bar. A one-kilogram silver bar is CHF 10, a one-ounce coin CHF 10 and a smaller coin CHF 5. Standard prices; the fee actually charged may differ.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Services charged on an hourly basisOther
  • CHF 200, min. CHF 30 per item
Applicable hourly rate for extraordinary expenses in connection with payment services, such as investigations, corrections, clarifications and retrieving documents, with a minimum fee of CHF 30.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Supplement for recurring or extraordinary expenses (maximum)Other
  • CHF 20,000 per year
A supplement on the account management fee of up to this amount, which the bank may charge for expenses arising from managing precious metals or other valuables, payment services, client-specific clarifications, or highly extensive advisory services.Services and fees - Basic cash services
Closure of banking relationship (maximum)Account closure
  • CHF 1,000
Stated as up to this amount.Services and fees - Basic cash services

Figures are shown in the currency the bank publishes them in and are not converted. This is not a complete tariff — always read the full source document.

04 · SERVICES

What the bank offers.

“Not disclosed” means the bank does not state this publicly — it is not a statement that the service is unavailable.

Investment

  • Discretionary portfolio managementOffered
  • Investment advisoryOffered
  • Execution-only tradingNot offered
  • Custody and safekeepingOffered
  • Private markets accessOffered

Banking

  • Multi-currency accountsOffered
  • Payment cards
    • Visa credit card
    • Mastercard debit card
    • Mastercard credit card
    Offered
  • Foreign exchangeOffered

Lending

  • Lombard lendingOffered
  • Mortgages and property financeOffered

Planning

  • Wealth and estate planningOffered

Structuring

  • Trust and foundation servicesNot disclosed

Digital

  • Online bankingOffered
  • Mobile app
    • iOS
    • Android
    Offered

Card network and platform names are trademarks of their owners. They are shown to record what the bank publishes about its own products, and do not indicate any partnership, endorsement, or affiliation.

05 · SOURCES

Where these figures come from.

Only documents published or supplied by the bank are used. Nothing here is taken from brokers or comparison sites.

Next scheduled review: 16 March 2027. Bank tariffs change frequently — several institutions in this directory revised theirs twice during 2026.

BANK DIRECTORY

Bank profiles and institutional filters.

All banks Start Bank Check