01 · AT A GLANCE
Luxembourg's oldest bank, combining everyday retail banking with a resident and non-resident wealth-management offering under ECB and CSSF supervision
- Luxembourg's oldest bank, founded 1856; RCS Luxembourg B6307
- Significant institution supervised by the ECB together with the CSSF
- Deposits covered by the Luxembourg FGDL up to EUR 100,000 per depositor, repayable within seven business days
- Wealth Management package priced at EUR 75 per month for residents and EUR 250 for non-residents, waived with a discretionary or advisory mandate
- Savings Plus account published in thirteen currencies; term deposit in EUR, USD, CHF and GBP from EUR 10,000
- Moody's A1 long-term deposit and A2 senior ratings; published S&P senior-preferred A- dates from October 2024
Not documentedThe bank documents reviewed here state no minimum for opening an account. That does not mean there is none; the bank may state one on request.
Retail, Affluent, Private banking, Wealth management, Institutional
English, French, German
02 · ACCOUNTS AND PRODUCTS
Documented accounts and products.
BIL Digital
Entry package invoiced per account, covering one EUR current account, unlimited Savings Plus accounts, an Invest account, BILnet and a Visa Debit card. The monthly fee depends on income credited to the account, and is waived for the first twelve months after online opening and thereafter while assets total at least EUR 25,000.
- Segment
- Retail
- Currencies
- EUR
BIL Gold
Package invoiced per package with unlimited EUR and foreign-currency current accounts, a Visa Gold card and included insurance and assistance. The monthly fee depends on income credited to the account, and the package is free only while every holder is aged 18 to 27.
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- EUR
BIL Platinum
Upper retail package with unlimited accounts, two included Visa Debit cards and a Visa Platinum card. The monthly fee depends on income credited to the account.
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- EUR
BIL Wealth Management Luxembourg
Wealth-management service package required for Luxembourg residents and the greater region. It carries a flat monthly commission that may be higher for complex cases, and is waived for clients holding a discretionary or advisory mandate except in complex cases.
- Segment
- Private banking
- Currencies
- EUR
BIL Wealth Management International
The equivalent service package required for non-residents, on the same terms but at a higher flat monthly commission. It is likewise waived for clients holding a discretionary or advisory mandate except in complex cases.
- Segment
- Private banking
- Currencies
- EUR
Savings Plus account
Savings account reserved for natural persons, with interest paid annually and deposits and withdrawals available at any time. The bank publishes it in the euro and twelve further currencies; no minimum deposit is published.
- Segment
- Retail
- Currencies
- AUD · CAD · CHF · CZK · DKK · EUR · GBP · HUF · NOK · NZD · PLN · SEK · USD
Term deposit
Fixed-term deposit with a rate set at subscription for a term of one, three, six or twelve months. The published minimum subscription is EUR 10,000 and the bank states there are no management fees.
- Entry from
- EUR 10,000
- Segment
- Retail
- Currencies
- CHF · EUR · GBP · USD
BIL Serenio
Discretionary portfolio management under a regulated asset-allocation process, with a dedicated portfolio manager, rebalancing and regulatory reporting. No public entry minimum was established for the mandate.
- Segment
- Wealth management
BIL Advisio
Investment advisory in which the client keeps every investment decision while receiving personalised recommendations and suitability checks. No public entry minimum was established.
- Segment
- Wealth management
Securities trading via BILnet
Self-directed buying and selling of equities, bonds, funds and structured products. BILnet preferential pricing applies to the thirteen stock exchanges quoted in real time, and otherwise only to securities already held in the portfolio.
- Segment
- Retail
BIL Invest funds
Money-market, bond, equity and mixed funds issued by BIL alongside external funds. Subscription pricing differs between BIL and external funds, and arrangement fees for complex and alternative funds are quoted on request.
- Segment
- Retail
BIL structured products
Capital-protected and non-capital-protected structured products issued by BIL, plus very long term warrants. Capital protection applies at maturity and net of fees where the product states it.
- Segment
- Retail
BIL Visa Debit
Visa debit card, with a separate no-fee Visa Debit Young card for under-18s. Card payments in euro within the EU are free; other currencies carry a foreign-exchange fee.
- Segment
- Retail
BIL Visa credit cards
Visa Classic, Gold, Platinum and Infinite credit cards for individuals, with monthly fees rising by tier and a foreign-exchange fee that falls at the higher tiers. Business cards are published separately.
- Segment
- Affluent
International mortgage
Property financing for a main or secondary residence or a rental investment, published for nine countries: Luxembourg, France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Switzerland, Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands. No public loan minimum was established.
- Segment
- Private banking
Invest Lombard account
Lending arranged against an investment portfolio, published in the tariff as a dedicated Invest Lombard account carrying no management fee. The bank describes credit facilities set by loan-to-value ratio and subject to approval; individual lending terms are not published.
- Segment
- Private banking
Wealth planning
Estate and succession planning, business transfer and international wealth structuring, including recommendations on fiduciary, trust and foundation structures. BIL advises on these structures; the page does not establish that the bank acts as trustee itself.
- Segment
- Private banking
03 · WHAT IT COSTS
Published pricing.
| Charge | Amount | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| BIL Digital monthly package feeAccount maintenance |
| Charged per account while at least EUR 1,500 of monthly income is credited during the reference period; otherwise EUR 5 per month. Free for holders aged 12 to 17, for the first twelve months after online account opening, and thereafter while assets total at least EUR 25,000..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| BIL Gold monthly package feeAccount maintenance |
| Charged per package while at least EUR 2,500 of monthly income is credited during the reference period; otherwise EUR 11.90 per month. Free only while every account holder is aged 18 to 27..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| BIL Platinum monthly package feeAccount maintenance |
| Charged per package while at least EUR 4,000 of monthly income is credited during the reference period; otherwise EUR 21.90 per month..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| BIL Wealth Management Luxembourg monthly commissionAccount maintenance |
| Charged across the whole banking relationship, not per service. Flat monthly commission excluding VAT, required for Luxembourg residents and the greater region. It may be higher for complex cases as justified to the client, and clients holding a discretionary or advisory mandate are exempt except in complex cases..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| BIL Wealth Management International monthly commissionAccount maintenance |
| Charged across the whole banking relationship, not per service. Flat monthly commission excluding VAT, required for non-residents. It may be higher for complex cases as justified to the client, and clients holding a discretionary or advisory mandate are exempt except in complex cases..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Current account maintenance in other currenciesAccount maintenance |
| Charged on a current account held in a currency other than the euro, outside the packages that include such accounts..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Savings Plus account maintenance feeAccount maintenance |
| Charged on the annual end-of-period statement..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Recurring securities feeCustody |
| Excluding VAT, invoiced quarterly on the daily average of non-BIL securities in each portfolio, subject to a minimum of EUR 12.50 per quarter. It covers custody, securities and coupon collection and regularisation operations. Securities issued by BIL are free..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Equity and ETF trading commissionTrading commission |
| Branch rate on all amounts, subject to a EUR 75 minimum and excluding local taxes, brokerage and handling fees. BILnet orders on the thirteen real-time exchanges receive 70% off with no minimum..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Bond and structured-product trading commissionTrading commission |
| Branch rate on all amounts, subject to a EUR 75 minimum and excluding local taxes, brokerage and handling fees. BILnet receives 50% off with no minimum, but only for securities already held in the portfolio..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| External investment fund subscription and redemptionTrading commission |
| Rate for funds other than BIL's own, subject to a EUR 75 minimum and excluding fees paid to the promoter or the fund. BIL's own non-money-market funds are charged 0.50% with no minimum..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Foreign exchange transaction feeForeign exchange |
| Spot, forward and swap transactions. The rate applies to the whole amount rather than cumulatively..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Visa Debit foreign exchange feeForeign exchange |
| Applied to withdrawals and payments in currencies other than the euro, on the daily Visa rate plus the bank's mark-up..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Non-SEPA outgoing credit transferOutgoing payments |
| Electronic format to any destination, subject to a EUR 5 minimum and a EUR 100 maximum. Other formats are charged 0.20% with a EUR 20 minimum and EUR 150 maximum, and correspondent fees apply in addition where the ordering client bears all charges..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Non-SEPA incoming paymentIncoming payments |
| Subject to a EUR 5 minimum and a EUR 40 maximum. The Gold and Platinum packages include these payments without charge..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Visa Debit monthly feeCard fee |
| Standalone card fee. Visa Debit Young carries no monthly fee, and the packages include one or two cards..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Visa Classic monthly feeCard fee |
| Lowest published individual credit-card tier; Gold is EUR 7, Platinum EUR 17 and Infinite EUR 35 per month..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Credit-card cash advanceCash withdrawal |
| Published as EUR 4 plus 2.50% of the advance; only the percentage component is modelled here. Direct withdrawals from BIL's own ATMs are free..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Account closure feeAccount closure |
| Charged on a cash and securities account only where the relationship has existed for less than one year and the client severs all relations with BIL. A cash-only account is EUR 50..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Inactive account management feeInactivity |
| Charged per account per quarter. The tariff publishes EUR 75 or EUR 200 excluding VAT without stating how the two rates are allocated, and does not state how long an account must be dormant. Separate preliminary research fees rise with the holder's country of residence..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Mortgage arrangement feeOther |
| Single fee on new mortgage contracts and amendments of all types, subject to a EUR 350 minimum..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
| Safe-deposit box monthly rentOther |
| Smallest published size, under 26 dm³, excluding VAT and on a minimum rental period of one year. Non-resident clients also place a EUR 750 security deposit, returned at the end of the contract..Tariff overview — 5th July 2026 |
Figures are shown in the currency the bank publishes them in and are not converted. This is not a complete tariff — always read the full source document.
04 · SERVICES
What the bank offers.
“Not disclosed” means the bank does not state this publicly — it is not a statement that the service is unavailable.
Investment
- Discretionary portfolio managementOffered
- Investment advisoryOffered
- Execution-only tradingOffered
- Custody and safekeepingOffered
- Private markets accessNot disclosed
Banking
- Multi-currency accountsOffered
- Payment cards
- Visa debit carddebit
- Visa credit cardcredit
- Foreign exchangeOffered
Lending
- Lombard lendingOffered
- Mortgages and property financeOffered
Planning
- Wealth and estate planningOffered
Structuring
- Trust and foundation servicesNot disclosed
Digital
- Online bankingOffered
- Mobile app
- iOS
- Android
Card network and platform names are trademarks of their owners. They are shown to record what the bank publishes about its own products, and do not indicate any partnership, endorsement, or affiliation.
05 · SOURCES
Where these figures come from.
Only documents published or supplied by the bank are used. Nothing here is taken from brokers or comparison sites.
Next scheduled review: 9 March 2027. Bank tariffs change frequently — several institutions in this directory revised theirs twice during 2026.

