01 · AT A GLANCE
Full-service Bermudian bank with trust and wealth services
- Bermuda dollar deposits are covered to BMD 25,000 by the Bermuda Deposit Insurance Scheme
- Accounts available in BMD, USD, CAD and GBP
- Schedule of charges revised twice during 2026
- Banking, trust and wealth services in one institution
Not documentedThe bank documents reviewed here state no minimum for opening an account. That does not mean there is none; the bank may state one on request.
Retail, Affluent, Wealth management, Corporate
English
02 · ACCOUNTS AND PRODUCTS
Documented accounts and products.
Chequing account
Everyday account in Bermuda or US dollars, Canadian dollars or sterling. Maintenance is charged per account and is not waived by holding a balance.
- Segment
- Retail
- Currencies
- BMD · CAD · GBP · USD
Call or Fixed Deposit Account
Interest-bearing call or fixed-term deposit.
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- USD
Bermuda dollar fixed-term deposit
Bermuda-dollar fixed-term deposit with a published minimum opening deposit of BMD 5,000.
- Entry from
- BMD 5,000
- Segment
- Retail
- Currencies
- BMD
03 · WHAT IT COSTS
Published pricing.
| Charge | Amount | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly account maintenance (chequing)Account maintenance |
| Waived only for customers aged 60 and over and for registered Bermuda charities. Note that the USD 5,000 or GBP 3,500 average daily balance the schedule states does not waive this fee — it buys an allowance of five free cheques a month, after which each is USD 3.50 or GBP 2.50.Retail Banking — Schedule of Charges |
| Monthly account maintenance (savings)Account maintenance |
| The savings rate, a fifth of the chequing one. Applies to the Strata and Statement accounts, and is waived for customers aged 60 and over, Young Savers accounts, and registered Bermuda charities. A Young Savers account carries no maintenance, compliance or dormancy charge at all. The schedule marks every savings account "Local personal use only".Retail Banking — Schedule of Charges |
| Monthly compliance feeAccount maintenance |
| Charged per account, alongside the maintenance fee, and waived on the same terms.Retail Banking — Schedule of Charges |
| Dormancy feeInactivity |
| Applies after 2 years without activity.Retail Banking — Schedule of Charges |
| Cash withdrawal at a non-Butterfield ATMCash withdrawal |
| Applies at Mastercard and Cirrus ATMs outside the Butterfield network.Retail Banking — Schedule of Charges |
| US cross-border fee on card transactionsForeign exchange |
| Quoted by the bank as 60 basis points.Retail Banking — Schedule of Charges |
Figures are shown in the currency the bank publishes them in and are not converted. This is not a complete tariff — always read the full source document.
04 · SERVICES
What the bank offers.
“Not disclosed” means the bank does not state this publicly — it is not a statement that the service is unavailable.
Investment
- Discretionary portfolio managementNot disclosed
- Investment advisoryNot disclosed
- Execution-only tradingNot disclosed
- Custody and safekeepingNot disclosed
- Private markets accessNot disclosed
Banking
- Multi-currency accountsOffered
- Payment cardsOffered
- Foreign exchangeOffered
Lending
- Lombard lendingNot disclosed
- Mortgages and property financeOffered
Planning
- Wealth and estate planningNot disclosed
Structuring
- Trust and foundation servicesNot disclosed
Digital
- Online bankingOffered
- Mobile app
- iOS
- Android
Card network and platform names are trademarks of their owners. They are shown to record what the bank publishes about its own products, and do not indicate any partnership, endorsement, or affiliation.
05 · SOURCES
Where these figures come from.
Only documents published or supplied by the bank are used. Nothing here is taken from brokers or comparison sites.
Next scheduled review: 28 February 2027. Bank tariffs change frequently — several institutions in this directory revised theirs twice during 2026.

