01 · AT A GLANCE
Jersey branch of HSBC Bank plc offering multi-currency offshore banking to internationally mobile clients
- Division of HSBC Bank plc, Jersey Branch, regulated by the Jersey Financial Services Commission
- Jersey Bank Depositors Compensation Scheme cover up to GBP 50,000 per depositor
- Expat Bank Account in sterling, US dollars and euro, with savings in up to 19 currencies
- Global Money Account and Visa debit card holding 19 currencies with no HSBC transfer fees
- Entry by relationship balance of GBP 75,000, or GBP 10,000 for existing HSBC Premier customers
- Long-term senior ratings of A1, A+ and AA published for HSBC Bank plc itself
Not documentedThe bank documents reviewed here state no minimum for opening an account. That does not mean there is none; the bank may state one on request.
Affluent, Private banking
English
02 · ACCOUNTS AND PRODUCTS
Documented accounts and products.
Expat Bank Account
The core offshore current account, held in Jersey and available in sterling, US dollars and euro. Eligibility rests on a relationship balance of GBP 75,000 in savings or investments with HSBC Expat, or GBP 10,000 for existing HSBC Premier customers, which also governs the underfunding fee; the bank publishes no separate opening amount for the account.
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- EUR · GBP · USD
Global Money Account
A multi-currency account holding up to 19 currencies in one place, opened and managed in the mobile app. The bank publishes no account fee and no HSBC fees on transfers between Global Money currencies.
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- AED · AUD · CAD · CHF · CNY · CZK · DKK · EUR · GBP · HKD · JPY · NOK · NZD · PLN · SEK · SGD · THB · USD · ZAR
Saver Account
An easy-access savings account in sterling, US dollars or euro, each carrying a published minimum balance of 5,000 in the account currency.
- Entry from
- GBP 5,000
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- EUR · GBP · USD
Minimum balance: EUR 5,000 · GBP 5,000 · USD 5,000
Fixed Term Deposit
A deposit fixed for a term between one month and three years, available in 19 currencies. The published minimum balance is GBP 5,000, USD 5,000 or EUR 10,000; the bank says minimums and terms for other currencies may vary and does not publish them.
- Entry from
- GBP 5,000
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- AED · AUD · CAD · CHF · CNY · DKK · EUR · GBP · HKD · HUF · JPY · NOK · NZD · PLN · SEK · SGD · THB · USD · ZAR
Minimum balance: EUR 10,000 · GBP 5,000 · USD 5,000
Currency Savings
Flexible savings in 16 currencies other than sterling, US dollars and euro, which the bank directs to its other savings accounts. No minimum balance is published for this account.
- Segment
- Affluent
- Currencies
- AED · AUD · CAD · CHF · CNY · DKK · HKD · HUF · JPY · NOK · NZD · PLN · SEK · SGD · THB · ZAR
Global Money Visa debit card
A Visa debit card issued against the Global Money Account, published as spending in 18 currencies with physical and digital versions ordered in the app.
- Segment
- Affluent
InvestDirect International share dealing
Self-directed share dealing across 48 countries and regions. The tariff excludes InvestDirect share dealing from the relationship balance that governs eligibility.
- Segment
- Affluent
Portfolio investment funds
Ready-made portfolios at different risk levels alongside single asset class funds. These are fund products; the bank does not present them as a managed mandate.
- Segment
- Affluent
03 · WHAT IT COSTS
Published pricing.
| Charge | Amount | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| Underfunding feeBelow-minimum charge |
| Applies when average balance falls below GBP 75,000. Charged across the whole banking relationship, not per service. The relationship balance is the average monthly balance across current accounts, savings accounts, term deposits and investments, excluding InvestDirect share dealing. The threshold falls to GBP 10,000 for customers who already qualify as HSBC Premier elsewhere in the group, and is waived entirely for them. The fee is usually charged the month after underfunding occurs..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
| Exchange rate adjustmentForeign exchange |
| Applied to non-sterling transactions on a sterling debit card and to non-US dollar transactions on a US dollar debit card, covering both purchases and cash withdrawals..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
| Online and mobile paymentOutgoing payments |
| Priced online. Published as free for payments within the HSBC Group, to any other bank and for Global Transfers, whether instructed in the mobile app or in online banking. Larger payments fall back to the telephone banking price..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
| Telephone payment to another bankOutgoing payments |
| Priced by telephone. Charged at the same rate for Private Bank, Premier and Advance customers. Payments within the HSBC Group and Global Transfers remain free by telephone..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
| Telephone payment above the online banking limitOutgoing payments |
| Priced by telephone. Published as GBP 9 for Private Bank and Premier customers and GBP 14 for Advance customers..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
| Postal payment to another bankOutgoing payments |
| Charged on payments instructed by post. Published as GBP 9 for Private Bank and Premier customers and GBP 14 for Advance customers..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
| Payee option surchargeOutgoing payments |
| Charged when the sender elects to cover third-party charges as well. The tariff publishes a range of GBP 10 to GBP 15 and reserves the right to recharge third-party costs above that..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
| Fixed term deposit early breakageOther |
| Applies to term deposits starting on or after 1 December 2025 for all terms, charged in the currency of the deposit. Deposits started before that date are instead charged an interest-based penalty of 15 to 180 days depending on the term..HSBC Expat Tariff of Charges |
Figures are shown in the currency the bank publishes them in and are not converted. This is not a complete tariff — always read the full source document.
04 · SERVICES
What the bank offers.
“Not disclosed” means the bank does not state this publicly — it is not a statement that the service is unavailable.
Investment
- Discretionary portfolio managementNot disclosed
- Investment advisoryNot disclosed
- Execution-only tradingOffered
- Custody and safekeepingNot disclosed
- Private markets accessNot disclosed
Banking
- Multi-currency accountsOffered
- Payment cards
- Visa debit carddebit
- Foreign exchangeOffered
Lending
- Lombard lendingNot disclosed
- Mortgages and property financeNot disclosed
Planning
- Wealth and estate planningNot disclosed
Structuring
- Trust and foundation servicesNot disclosed
Digital
- Online bankingOffered
- Mobile appOffered
Card network and platform names are trademarks of their owners. They are shown to record what the bank publishes about its own products, and do not indicate any partnership, endorsement, or affiliation.
05 · SOURCES
Where these figures come from.
Only documents published or supplied by the bank are used. Nothing here is taken from brokers or comparison sites.
Next scheduled review: 6 March 2027. Bank tariffs change frequently — several institutions in this directory revised theirs twice during 2026.
