offbnk
Bank directory

BANK PROFILE · Hong Kong

HSBC Hong Kong Premier

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

HSBC Premier in Hong Kong is an affluent-banking proposition of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, not a separate legal bank. The exact entity is a Hong Kong Monetary Authority licensed bank headquartered at 1 Queen's Road Central and a wholly owned subsidiary of HSBC Holdings plc. Eligible protected deposits are covered by Hong Kong's Deposit Protection Scheme up to HKD 800,000 per depositor and member bank. Premier can be entered by maintaining a Total Relationship Balance of at least HKD 1,000,000 or by holding or qualifying for HSBC Premier in another country or region. The current tariff charges HKD 380 a month when the rolling three-month relationship balance is below HKD 1,000,000, after any applicable introductory waiver. The integrated account combines HKD current and savings accounts, foreign-currency savings, time deposits and investments; the wider Premier offer includes relationship-led wealth planning, self-directed investments, portfolio-backed lending, Mastercard debit and credit cards, mortgages, foreign exchange, online banking and the HSBC HK app. The app and website explicitly describe the proposition as intended for Hong Kong customers and subject to cross-border restrictions. As at 6 July 2026, HSBC publishes AA, Aa3 and AA- long-term senior ratings with stable outlooks for this exact legal entity.

Jurisdiction
Hong Kong
Regulator
HKMA
Founded
1865
Headquarters
Hong Kong

01 · AT A GLANCE

Hong Kong affluent banking with an integrated multi-currency account, global HSBC connectivity, investment access and relationship-led wealth planning

  • HKMA-licensed Hong Kong bank; Premier is a proposition of the exact legal entity rather than a separate bank
  • Protected deposits covered by Hong Kong's Deposit Protection Scheme up to HKD 800,000 per depositor and member bank
  • Published Premier qualification threshold of HKD 1,000,000 in Total Relationship Balance, with International Premier as an alternative route
  • Current below-balance fee of HKD 380 per month after any applicable introductory waiver
  • Integrated account, twelve-currency Mastercard debit card, investments, portfolio-backed lending, mortgages and digital banking
  • Exact-entity long-term senior ratings of AA, Aa3 and AA- with stable outlooks as at 6 July 2026
Minimum deposit

From HKD 1,000,000The lowest documented entry amount among the bank's account and mandate products: HSBC Premier Bank Account. Other products may require more.

Client segments

Affluent, Wealth management

Service languages

English, Chinese

02 · ACCOUNTS AND PRODUCTS

Documented accounts and products.

Banking package

HSBC Premier Bank Account

An integrated account combining HKD current and savings accounts, RMB and other foreign-currency savings, time deposits, an investment services account and consolidated reporting. Premier qualification is published at HKD 1,000,000 in Total Relationship Balance, with qualification for Premier in another market as an alternative route.

Entry from
HKD 1,000,000
Segment
Affluent
Currencies
CNY · HKD
Current account

HKD Current Account

The Hong Kong dollar current-account component of the Premier integrated account. No separate public opening amount is stated beyond the Premier relationship qualification rules.

Segment
Affluent
Currencies
HKD
Savings account

Multi-currency Savings Accounts

Savings components within the Premier integrated account covering HKD, RMB and eleven published foreign-currency savings accounts. The reviewed account pages do not publish separate opening minima for each currency.

Segment
Affluent
Currencies
CNY · HKD
Fixed deposit

Time Deposit Accounts

Time-deposit accounts included in the Premier integrated account. Rates, tenors and minimum placement amounts vary and no single general entry minimum is inferred.

Segment
Affluent
Fund services

Unit Trusts

Self-directed subscriptions and redemptions across a range of unit trusts through the HSBC HK app, online banking or the bank. The public page states lump-sum access from USD 1,000 or HKD 10,000 and monthly plans from HKD 1,000; no single cross-currency minimum is imposed here.

Segment
Wealth management
Currencies
HKD · USD
Execution only

Bonds and Certificates of Deposit

Digital and branch access to primary and secondary bond and certificate-of-deposit markets, with published availability from HKD 10,000 depending on the instrument. Certificates of deposit are investment products and are not treated here as protected bank deposits.

Entry from
HKD 10,000
Segment
Wealth management
Currencies
CNY · HKD
Other

Wealth Portfolio Intelligence Service

A portfolio-analysis and planning service for Premier clients covering their unit-trust holdings, available in the HSBC HK app or with a Premier Relationship Manager. It is not represented as a discretionary mandate.

Segment
Wealth management
Lombard loan

Wealth Portfolio Lending

A secured revolving credit facility for Premier and Premier Elite clients, backed by eligible deposits and investments. Credit limits, advance ratios and pricing depend on the approved portfolio; no general minimum loan amount is published.

Segment
Affluent
Payment card

HSBC Premier Mastercard Credit Card

A Mastercard credit card available to HSBC Premier customers, with permanent annual-fee waivers for primary and supplementary cards under the current published terms.

Segment
Affluent
Payment card

HSBC Mastercard Debit Card

A debit card for Premier integrated-account holders that debits corresponding balances in twelve published currencies: HKD, USD, GBP, JPY, RMB, EUR, THB, AUD, NZD, SGD, CAD and CHF.

Segment
Affluent
Currencies
AUD · CAD · CHF · CNY · EUR · GBP · HKD · JPY · NZD · SGD · THB · USD
Mortgage

Mortgages

Hong Kong residential mortgage options including fixed-rate, green, high-advance and government-housing plans, subject to credit assessment. No universal minimum facility amount is recorded.

Segment
Affluent
Currencies
HKD
Other

Foreign Exchange

Real-time currency exchange across up to eleven major currencies through online and mobile banking, with FX Order Watch and international transfer access. No separate entry minimum is published.

Segment
Affluent

03 · WHAT IT COSTS

Published pricing.

ChargeAmountWhen it applies
HSBC Premier below balance feeBelow-minimum charge
  • HKD 380 per month
Applies when average balance falls below HKD 1,000,000 over 3 months. Charged across the whole banking relationship, not per service. Charged when the rolling average Total Relationship Balance over the previous three months is below HKD 1,000,000. New or upgraded Premier accounts may receive the published six-month introductory waiver..Bank Tariff Guide for HSBC Retail Banking and Wealth Management Customers
Online global payment - other destinations or currenciesOutgoing payments
  • HKD 70 per transaction
Priced online. The tariff waives specified RMB and eligible local-currency global payments; other global payments made through online or mobile banking carry this charge..Bank Tariff Guide for HSBC Retail Banking and Wealth Management Customers
Branch telegraphic transferOutgoing payments
  • HKD 210 per transaction
Priced in branch.Bank Tariff Guide for HSBC Retail Banking and Wealth Management Customers
Online RTGS payment to another local bankOutgoing payments
  • HKD 0 per transaction
Priced online.Bank Tariff Guide for HSBC Retail Banking and Wealth Management Customers
Incoming RTGS or FPS paymentIncoming payments
  • HKD 0 per transaction
AlwaysBank Tariff Guide for HSBC Retail Banking and Wealth Management Customers
HSBC Premier Mastercard primary-card annual feeCard fee
  • HKD 0 per year
AlwaysBank Tariff Guide for HSBC Retail Banking and Wealth Management Customers
HSBC Premier Mastercard overlimit handling feeOther
  • HKD 90 per transaction
AlwaysBank Tariff Guide for HSBC Retail Banking and Wealth Management Customers
Bond and certificate-of-deposit custodyCustody
  • HKD 0 per year
AlwaysBonds and Certificates of Deposit
Bond transfer out through CMUTrading commission
  • HKD 500 per item
AlwaysBonds and Certificates of Deposit
Bond transfer out through an overseas clearing systemTrading commission
  • HKD 1,000 per item
AlwaysBonds and Certificates of Deposit
Unit trust initial subscription chargeTrading commission
  • 2.5% (up to HKD 1,000,000) per transaction
  • 2% (above HKD 1,000,000) per transaction
Published Premier rate for open-end funds other than bond funds: 2.50% below HKD 1,000,000 and 2.00% from HKD 1,000,000. Separate terms apply to bond funds and promotional offers..Unit Trusts

Figures are shown in the currency the bank publishes them in and are not converted. This is not a complete tariff — always read the full source document.

04 · SERVICES

What the bank offers.

“Not disclosed” means the bank does not state this publicly — it is not a statement that the service is unavailable.

Investment

  • Discretionary portfolio managementNot disclosed
  • Investment advisoryNot disclosed
  • Execution-only tradingOffered
  • Custody and safekeepingOffered
  • Private markets accessNot disclosed

Banking

  • Multi-currency accountsOffered
  • Payment cards
    • Mastercard debit card
    • Mastercard credit card
    Offered
  • Foreign exchangeOffered

Lending

  • Lombard lendingOffered
  • Mortgages and property financeOffered

Planning

  • Wealth and estate planningOffered

Structuring

  • Trust and foundation servicesNot disclosed

Digital

  • Online bankingOffered
  • Mobile app
    • iOS
    • Android
    Offered

Card network and platform names are trademarks of their owners. They are shown to record what the bank publishes about its own products, and do not indicate any partnership, endorsement, or affiliation.

05 · SOURCES

Where these figures come from.

Only documents published or supplied by the bank are used. Nothing here is taken from brokers or comparison sites.

Next scheduled review: 7 March 2027. Bank tariffs change frequently — several institutions in this directory revised theirs twice during 2026.

BANK DIRECTORY

Bank profiles and institutional filters.

All banks Start Bank Check