offbnk
Bank directory

BANK PROFILE · Liechtenstein

LGT Bank

LGT Bank AG

LGT is owned by the Princely House of Liechtenstein, and that ownership is central to how it positions itself: the family invests alongside its clients. It publishes a dated price list for its banking services, though not for portfolio management or advisory, which are quoted through a relationship manager. The published list is unusually blunt about residency: account management costs a client domiciled outside Liechtenstein and Switzerland almost five times what it costs one inside.

Jurisdiction
Liechtenstein
Regulator
FMA Liechtenstein
Founded
1920
Headquarters
Vaduz

01 · AT A GLANCE

Private bank owned by the Princely House of Liechtenstein

  • Owned by the Princely House of Liechtenstein
  • Account management is CHF 480 a year for international clients against CHF 100 for local ones
  • Banking prices are published; portfolio management and advisory pricing is not
Minimum deposit

Not documentedThe bank documents reviewed here state no minimum for opening an account. That does not mean there is none; the bank may state one on request.

Client segments

Private banking, Ultra high net worth

Service languages

German, English

02 · ACCOUNTS AND PRODUCTS

Documented accounts and products.

Current account

Current account

Business and private payment services in Swiss francs, euros and other foreign currencies. LGT publishes a standardised Fee Information Document for this account under the Payment Accounts Act, which puts account management at CHF 100 a year for a client domiciled in Liechtenstein or Switzerland and CHF 480 for an international one.

Segment
Private banking
Currencies
CHF · EUR
Savings account

Deposit account

A notice account in Swiss francs, euros or US dollars. Withdrawals above CHF/EUR/USD 50,000 a month need three months' notice, and drawing beyond the available balance costs 1% of the overdrawn amount. Turnover commission is included in the account management fee rather than charged separately.

Segment
Private banking
Currencies
CHF · EUR · USD
Savings account

Savings account

Exempt from account management fees, posting charges, turnover commission, statement fees and mailing charges. Withdrawals above CHF/EUR/USD 20,000 a month need six months' notice, and drawing beyond the available balance costs 2%.

Segment
Affluent
Currencies
CHF · EUR · USD
Custody account

Private banking relationship

Banking, securities custody and investment management under one relationship. The price list names LGT portfolio management and LGT Advisory but prices neither, directing the reader to a relationship manager, so no mandate figure is shown here.

Segment
Private banking
Advisory mandate

LGT investment advisory

Investment advisory documented in LGT's current private-banking publications.

Segment
Private banking
Discretionary mandate

LGT portfolio management

Discretionary portfolio management documented in LGT's current private-banking publications.

Segment
Private banking

03 · WHAT IT COSTS

Published pricing.

ChargeAmountWhen it applies
Account management fee — international clientsAccount maintenance
  • CHF 120 per quarter
Applies to clients resident outside the bank's home market. Charged per portfolio where at least one beneficial owner is domiciled outside Liechtenstein or Switzerland — CHF 480 a year, against CHF 100 for a client domiciled in either. The Fee Information Document for the current account states the same figure.Services and fees — Basic cash services
Account management fee — clients domiciled in Liechtenstein or SwitzerlandAccount maintenance
  • CHF 25 per quarter
Charged per portfolio. Covers account management and transaction fees, electronic payments in Swiss francs and euros, quarterly statements, cash withdrawals at Liechtenstein and Swiss cash machines, and domestic debit card charges.Services and fees — Basic cash services
Administration fee where a contracting party is a legal entityAccount maintenance
  • CHF 1,000 per quarter
Charged in addition to the account management fee if at least one contracting party is a legal entity, which the bank attributes to the added regulatory complexity. Relevant to anyone banking through a company or a foundation.Services and fees — Basic cash services
Bank fee on foreign currency and metal account transactionsForeign exchange
  • 1.5% (up to CHF 100,000) per transaction
  • 1% (CHF 100,000 – CHF 250,000) per transaction
  • 0.6% (CHF 250,000 – CHF 500,000) per transaction
  • 0.45% (CHF 500,000 – CHF 1,000,000) per transaction
  • 0.25% (CHF 1,000,000 – CHF 3,000,000) per transaction
  • 0.15% (CHF 3,000,000 – CHF 5,000,000) per transaction
  • 0.1% (above CHF 5,000,000) per transaction
Banded on transaction volume in Swiss francs or equivalent. The price list notes these are standard prices and that the fee actually charged may differ.Services and fees — Basic cash services
Turnover commissionTrading commission
  • 0.1% per transaction
Charged per debit transaction subject to commission. Purchases of securities, foreign exchange and precious metals carry no turnover commission, and for deposit accounts it is included in the account management fee.Services and fees — Basic cash services
Metal account commissionCustody
  • 0.5% p.a., min. CHF 50
Charged on average holdings at the end of each year, in addition to the account management fee, with a minimum of CHF 50.Services and fees — Basic cash services
Supplement for recurring or extraordinary expenses (maximum)Other
  • CHF 20,000 per year
A supplement on the account management fee of up to this amount, which the bank may charge for expenses arising from managing precious metals or other valuables, execution warrants, payment services, client-specific clarifications, or highly extensive advisory services.Services and fees — Basic cash services
Closure of banking relationship (maximum)Account closure
  • CHF 1,000
Stated as up to this amount.Services and fees — Basic cash services

Figures are shown in the currency the bank publishes them in and are not converted. This is not a complete tariff — always read the full source document.

04 · SERVICES

What the bank offers.

“Not disclosed” means the bank does not state this publicly — it is not a statement that the service is unavailable.

Investment

  • Discretionary portfolio managementOffered
  • Investment advisoryOffered
  • Execution-only tradingNot disclosed
  • Custody and safekeepingOffered
  • Private markets accessNot disclosed

Banking

  • Multi-currency accountsOffered
  • Payment cardsOffered
  • Foreign exchangeOffered

Lending

  • Lombard lendingNot disclosed
  • Mortgages and property financeNot disclosed

Planning

  • Wealth and estate planningNot disclosed

Structuring

  • Trust and foundation servicesNot disclosed

Digital

  • Online bankingOffered
  • Mobile app
    • iOS
    • Android
    Offered

Card network and platform names are trademarks of their owners. They are shown to record what the bank publishes about its own products, and do not indicate any partnership, endorsement, or affiliation.

05 · SOURCES

Where these figures come from.

Only documents published or supplied by the bank are used. Nothing here is taken from brokers or comparison sites.

Next scheduled review: 31 August 2027. Bank tariffs change frequently — several institutions in this directory revised theirs twice during 2026.

BANK DIRECTORY

Bank profiles and institutional filters.

All banks Start Bank Check